Most of the attacks on climate science are coming from libertarians…

Quick reference guide on global warming from the New York Times:

“Why do people question climate change?”

“Most of the attacks on climate science are coming from libertarians and other political conservatives who do not like the policies that have been proposed to fight global warming.”

We got top billing. I was hoping the government would throw some money my way to grow some trees. I am in favor of a small increase the gasoline tax. I am pro-nuclear like Hansen. Yet, I think the technology of renewables has been rolled out too early in some cases that hasn’t accomplished so much yet cost considerable sums of money. I am not in favor of ethanol subsidies, but many hippies and some Greens agree with me. On the big issue of a carbon tax, a small one placed directly on the fuels for the sake of simplicity, with no refunds for anyone. Sorting out refunds will be political and involve another layer of bureaucracy.

The libertarians rarely get elected to any offices. Why we’d think this small minority could cause so many problems, I can’t figure that one out.

Leave a Reply

